Mommy and Me Vacation to Wisconsin

IMG_7987
Before I got married, 2009 was the year I asked my mom if she wanted to go back to visit our family in Milwaukee, Wisconsin. My mom moved there from the Philippines with her family in the 70s. She wasn’t married at the time, but she went back to the Philippines to marry my dad, and she petitioned him, and they started their family out there.

My brother and I were both born there, same hospital and doctor. We still have family that live there now. It’s a really uncommon place to find Filipinos, but there are a good number of them out there, aside from my family.

We flew out together and she stayed for a week, but I stayed for two weeks. The seven days we were there together, we went everywhere. I rented a car, so that we would be able to visit all our family that we haven’t seen in years. It was a mother-daughter trip I’ll never forget.

IMG_7517 IMG_8028IMG_7602 IMG_7520

We didn’t have an itinerary before we left California. It was a “plan the week as the day goes by” kind of trip. I think I got my spontaneity from Mommy. The only main things we prioritized were visiting specific family members, and going back to our old and favorite eating places when we still lived there!

My most favorite dessert place was Leon’s Frozen Custard. I remember it snowing, and we would eat our treats in the car. I’ll have to post a picture if I ever find one from when I was younger. Mommy couldn’t afford to get a lot of pictures developed back then, but you can bet I went back when I was old enough. Chocolate and butter pecan were always my favorite. I remember getting root beer floats back then too. It was crazy that after 16 years the signs and menu still looked the same.
IMG_7849 IMG_7853
This was one of my family’s favorite places to eat that is still alive today. When I went back, it didn’t seem as big as it did before, but the food was still good. I didn’t expect much from this place going back as an adult, but I loved it!
I learned about this place in 2009 when my aunt told me about it. I thought it was Italian, but they have paczkis and donuts too. Great place to get some delectable delights! I wish I remembered what I bought, but I guess I shouldn’t have waited four and a half years to write this post. Whatever it was, I remember it being good!
IMG_7838 IMG_7836

This trip changed my life. Not only did I get to spend time with my mom, but we got back in touch with so many people that we haven’t seen for years! The following photos aren’t even half of what we did and saw, but I tried to include as many pictures of the different people and things we got to see on that vacation. Let me know if you have one that I have to add!

IMG_7521 IMG_7629 IMG_7630 IMG_7633 IMG_7638 IMG_7642 IMG_7660 IMG_7663 IMG_7690 IMG_7736 IMG_7740 IMG_7757 IMG_7775 IMG_7790 IMG_7971 IMG_7978 IMG_7975

At first I was hesitant to go on vacation with just me and my mom, but now that I look back at it, I’m so grateful that we went. I wanted her to see her family and friends from there, and for some, that was the last time they saw each other. This was a trip for ages and I’m so glad that it happened.

After Mommy went back to California, I was on my own, and one of my main goals was to see Downtown Chicago. We never really did touristy things in Chicago when I was a kid, so I thought that this would be my chance! Read about that on my next post about my trip(s) to Chicago.

 What other places do I have to see or eat at in Milwaukee, or Wisconsin in general?

Leave a Reply

